How do I remove or delete a site?

Over time, sites that you’re tracking will be sold and will need to be removed from your portfolio in Measurabl. There are also other reasons why you may need to remove a site from your portfolio in Measurabl - for example when a site gets pulled in from ENERGY STAR but doesn’t belong to your portfolio.

This article shows how to delete a site from a portfolio as well as the differences between deleting a site vs marking it as inactive (and reasons you might choose each approach).

How to Remove Sites from your Group:

NOTE: Sites that are linked to ENERGY STAR cannot be deleted in Measurabl- you will need to delete them in ENERGY STAR (or transfer them to the new owner if the site was sold).  

You can delete manual sites following the steps below.

  1. Navigate to the “Sites” page.
  2. Click on the site that you want to remove.
  3. Click on the ellipsis (...) button on the right, to the right of “Export Report”
  4. Click “Delete Site”.
    Delete_Site_Subgroups.png
  5. A pop-up will ask you to confirm that you want to delete the site.
  6. Click “Delete” to permanently remove the site.

    unnamed__1_.png

NOTE: Deleting a site will remove the site’s floorspace usage (spaces), consumption data, and meter settings - You will no longer be able to view the site’s data in your portfolio.

Deleted Sites vs. Inactive Sites

There are a few reasons why you would want to mark your sites as “Inactive” and have them remain accessible in Measurabl instead of permanently deleting them from your portfolio.

If you choose to mark a site as inactive, you can always reactivate it after the fact. You also won't be billed for any inactive sites you have in the app. 

Why you’d want to mark a site ‘Inactive’:

  • Site was Sold and you will no longer be adding utility or non-utility data to it.
  • You don’t want to include this site’s data for reporting to GRESB or CDP, but it is still part of your portfolio.
  • The site came in through ENERGY STAR, but it is part of another portfolio.
  • If the site was sold, you want to ensure all Utility Sync sites are deactivated.

What happens when a site is ‘Inactive’:


  • Site remains in Measurabl.
  • Site’s metrics are not included in ‘Portfolio Trends’ summary calculations.
  • Site was sold, but you want to keep the site’s data as historical documentation for your portfolio.

Why you’d want to delete a site:

  • Site is a duplicate of another site.
  • Site was added manually but you no longer want to include it in your group.
  • Site was sold more than 2 years ago, which is outside of the GRESB Reporting Period

What happens when a site is ‘Deleted’:


  • Site’s utility and non-utility data will be removed from your Measurabl portfolio.
  • Site’s data will NOT be included in ‘Portfolio Trends’ summary calculations.
  • Site and its data will NOT be available in your Measurabl portfolio as historical data.

NOTE: If site is sold in current reporting year, you still have to report it to GRESB for the sake of total consumption values (it will be excluded from any Like-For-Like calculations).

If you have any questions regarding ‘Inactive’ or ‘Deleted’ sites, please feel free to reach out to us.




Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request