There may be a few reasons why you no longer want to pull in data or completely remove your utility meters. In these instances, you will want to make sure that you mark your meters accordingly, so it doesn't affect your meter completeness. This article will describe those different scenarios, what it means & how to delete, deactivate, and reactivate a Connect or Bill Upload meter.
Deactivate:
To place an end date on a meter, which indicates the last day that the meter was active. The end date will ensure that the meter completeness is accurately represented and will not count any more new days of 'days meter data is expected'. No more data will be added to this meter, however, the meter will remain on the 'Utilities' page of the property and will be included in reports/metrics.
Why you may want to deactivate a meter:
- Received a final bill, and the meter is no longer active.
- The meter is no longer under your control, and you aren't able to update it.
- The meter is no longer in use.
- The account or meter number changed.
Note: the Data Operations team will often deactivate a Connect meter proactively if either 1. the account has been finalized and is no longer expected to receive any bills/meter data or 2. the meter number is no longer found on the utility bills, and has been replaced with another meter, or finalled.
Delete:
To completely remove the meter and all of its readings in Measurabl and ENERGY STAR. Data from the meter will also be removed from any reports/metrics. This action cannot be undone, and should be used with caution.
Why you may want to delete a meter:
- The meter doesn't belong to your property.
- There is a duplicate meter.
Deleting, Deactivating & Reactivating Meters:
How to delete, deactivate, and reactivate a manual meter:
- From the landing page when you log in, click the 'Sites' tab on the left menu.
- Type & select the property you'd like to investigate.
- Click on the 'Utilities' tab on the left menu. Switch to the relevant utility type tab.
- Continue the steps under the task you'd like to complete below.
Delete:
- Click the ellipsis to the right of the meter you'd like to delete > Click 'Delete'.
- OR click into the meter profile, scroll to the bottom > click the red 'Delete Meter' button.
Deactivate or Reactivate:
- To deactivate the meter: Set the Is this meter active? toggle to No, enter the meter’s end date, and click the green Save button.
- To reactivate the meter: Set the Is this meter active? toggle to Yes, then click the green Save button.
How to delete, deactivate, and reactivate a Connect or Bill Upload meter:
Delete:
- Please email our support team if you need a Connect or Bill Upload meter to be deleted, noting the meter name and property.
Deactivate or Reactivate:
- To deactivate/reactivate all meters associated with an account number:
-
Open the Connect Dashboard > Select the account number you want to deactivate/reactivate > Scroll to the Account box > Click the vertical ellipsis (⋮) > Select Deactivate Account or Reactivate Account
-
- To deactivate one or some, but not all, meters under the same account number, please email our Support Team for further assistance.
NOTE: Deactivating and reactivating accounts will be reflected on the 'Utilities' page of the properties within 24-48 hours.